Since I got a phone that can use iOS 17 and 18, whenever I delete a message from a person with whom I'm sharing my location, I get a prompt asking if I want to keep or stop sharing the location (this never happened with my iPhone X which couldn't update to the latest OSs). This drives me nuts. I don't understsand why there's any connection between messages and location sharing. I always delete messages (and emails), and I'm not willing to just let them pile up indefinitely.
I've seen threads suggesting sharing location with the other person's iCloud email address rather than phone number. I tried that, but it didn't solve the problem. Is there an effective way to stop the location sharing prompt from popping up?